2015: My Kind of Year

Nine months abroad. Seven new countries. Four or so second dates. Two kitties. One Master’s degree. Nothing spectacular. Totally ordinary. Same old.
Except no, my 2015 was only the BEST! A banner year, for sure. One of those that I’m quite sad to let go off, actually. But I know it’s all up from here. I just know it. 

9 months abroad

This was the year the Foreign Service went literal and threw me somewhere foreign. I’ve been based in Egypt for 10 months now, technically, but minus my vacations in April and December, I’ve spent roughly 9 months a way from home. Already. I can’t even believe it. It’s been everything and then some. Work-wise, I’ve transformed into a multi-tasker extraordinaire. Life-wise, it’s a whole new dimension of independent living. 

And even then, I don’t think I’ve lived the complete expatriate experience in Cairo. I feel this is especially true when I hang out with my more outgoing counterparts in other Embassies. I always say that I live so far away from them and all the happening places, or that I’m a homebody, but the truth is I’ve been lazy. And so this coming year, I plan to change that. Go against my nature and say “yes” to every dinner, party or outing. Or at least say “maybe”. 

7 new countries

Aside from Egypt, I visited 6 countries for the first time this year. I would present them via selfie slideshow, as is my tradition, but I unfortunately don’t have the selfies on my phone anymore. So let me give a shoutout to Indonesia (Bali), Sudan (Khartoum), Ethiopia (Addis Ababa), Turkey (Istanbul and Selcuk/Ephesus), Greece (Athens) and Bahrain. Special mention to Malaysia (Kota Kinabalu) for my last work-related travel with the Office of ASEAN Affairs. 

Traveling is no longer a humblebrag, I think. Anyone can do it and everyone does it, and that’s just as it should be. Everyone needs the wider perspective on life that can be picked up only from traveling. And it makes me happy that we Filipinos in particular are seeing what’s out there, what we’re not, what we don’t have. It’s a reality check that we’ve needed for quite a while. And it’s a sign that we, financially, can. 

4 or so second dates

I sorry that some people are jealous of me, but I can’t help it if I’m popular. 

Char! Obviously that can’t be true if second dates are a highlight of my 2015. I mean, other people got married (like one of my best friends), had kids, or broke up this year. There’s a true highlight. But humor me, because the equivalent of these life events in my life is dating on the regular. I honestly think I expend as much energy dating as parents do on a newborn. Seriously. And I’ve said before that I’ve come to terms with a lifetime of singlehood as my likely future. So you can take your prenup shoots and wedding hashtags and go shave your backs now. #notbitter

But boring, stupid, evil, and – yes, let’s go there – exotic people are somehow in relationships! So, if only to prove that they’re not better than me, I hereby throw my hat in the relationship game. Haha! Besides, my best friend and I made a pact to marry each other at some point in our lives if we’re both still single, and it would be best if that didn’t happen, right, Claude? #parasaekonomiya πŸ†

2 kitties

Daria and Bowie are two of the most unexpected blessings in my life. I really had no plans for pets until I realized that I could buy the love of animals. Haha! But people are seriously hailing this decision to bring cats in my life like it’s the biggest deal. I am no longer for myself alone, they say. Was I really that selfish, friends???

Probably. 😈 But like, I get pet owners now, and pet clothes, pet hotels, the whole shebang. I wonder how Bowie and Daria are all the time, especially now. This is the longest they’ve been without me, and I’m really worried that they hate me right about now. My Instagram account needs them back, and so do I. 

1 Master’s degree

It took four years, the same amount of time it took for my undergraduate degree, but I did it. I’m proudest of the fact that I put myself through it, and stuck with it until the end while working full-time. I can now say with pride that I am a Master in International Studies graduate of the University of the Philippines. 

I know I swore off further studies for at least the next decade, but I will pursue it eventually for sure. Even though I think highly of my own UP education, there’s something to be said about a multinational environment at a top-caliber school. So it’s a matter of when, not if. And I’m totally open to a completely new field of study, like archaeology. Or back to journalism, even. 

2016

So what’s for the new year? Three very specific things, actually. One, I want to travel with friends. Done with the solo trips and selfies, it’s time I brought someone along who can take decent pictures of me. Haha! Two, I want to get back to top physical shape, through tennis, gym, belly dancing, whatever. And three, I want an epic 30th birthday. And of course money, love, world peace and all that crap. 

Happy 2016, y’all! Own it! πŸΎπŸŽ‰

Leave a comment